Search Albums:

Feel the Spirit

Feel the Spirit

The Cambridge Singers
John Rutter conductor


Strong, stirring spirituals and tuneful, jazz-flavoured settings of Shakespeare’s timeless lyrics are the mouth-watering ingredients of the Cambridge Singers’ album Feel the Spirit.John Rutter has written vivid arrangements of seven well-loved American spirituals for choir, with soloist Melanie Marshall and the BBC Concert Orchestra joining together with the Cambridge Singers for this world première recording.

Another notable ‘first’ is jazz legend George Shearing’s captivating cycle of Shakespeare settings, Songs and Sonnets. Those who associate George Shearing with instrumental jazz (and of course with his immortal Lullaby of Birdland) will be astonished and delighted at the youthful charm and skilful word setting of this cycle. The final touch of sparkle is added by Proms favourite Wayne Marshall’s piano with Malcolm Creese on bass. To complete the album, John Rutter’s own Birthday Madrigals also receive their première recording.

Wayne Marshall piano
Malcolm Creese double bass

"The Cambridge Singers and BBC Concert Orchestra are on top form throughout...
A delightful disc. Strongly recommended." Gramophone

Purchase this CD:  Quantity: Buy $11.00


Listing Track   Composer   Length Listen
Feel the Spirit
01. Feel the Spirit: Joshua fit the battle of Jericho   arr. John Rutter   03:17
02. Feel the Spirit: Steal away   arr. John Rutter   04:21
03. Feel the Spirit: I got a robe   arr. John Rutter   02:34
04. Feel the Spirit: Sometimes I feel like a motherless child   arr. John Rutter   05:26
05. Feel the Spirit: Ev'ry time I feel the spirit   arr. John Rutter   04:33
06. Feel the Spirit: Deep river   arr. John Rutter   05:07
07. Feel the Spirit: When the saints go marching in   arr. John Rutter   04:11
Songs and Sonnets from Shakespeare
08. Songs and Sonnets from Shakespeare: Live with me and be my love   G. Shearing   03:02
09. Songs and Sonnets from Shakespeare: When daffodils begin to peer   G. Shearing   01:49
10. Songs and Sonnets from Shakespeare: It was a lover and his lass   G. Shearing   02:13
11. Songs and Sonnets from Shakespeare: Spring   G. Shearing   02:36
12. Songs and Sonnets from Shakespeare: Who is Silvia?   G. Shearing   05:00
13. Songs and Sonnets from Shakespeare: Fie on sinful fantasy   G. Shearing   01:03
14. Songs and Sonnets from Shakespeare: Hey, ho, the wind and the rain   G. Shearing   02:22
15. The heavenly aeroplane   John Rutter   01:50
16. Lord of the Dance   arr. John Rutter   03:19
Birthday Madrigals
17. Birthday Madrigals: It was a lover and his lass   John Rutter   02:21
18. Birthday Madrigals: Draw on, sweet night   John Rutter   05:09
19. Birthday Madrigals: Come live with me   John Rutter   03:41
20. Birthday Madrigals: My true love hath my heart   John Rutter   03:15
21. Birthday Madrigals: When daisies pied   John Rutter   02:57
22. Skylark   arr. John Rutter   04:42


Quantity: Buy $11.00