Search Albums:

Faire is the Heaven

Faire is the Heaven

Music of the English Church

The Cambridge Singers
John Rutter conductor


This recording is dedicated to unaccompanied English church music, sung in the beautiful acoustic of the Lady Chapel of Ely Cathedral. The 23 motets and anthems are drawn from three key periods: the Reformation, in the sixteenth century; the Restoration, in the later seventeenth century; and the Anglican revival, in the mid-nineteenth century.

"An individual record of exceptional warmth and delight." Gramophone

PDFDownload CD booklet (PDF - 342 kB)
Purchase this CD:  Quantity: Buy $16.98


Listing Track   Composer   Length Listen
01. Ave Maria   Robert Parsons   04:25
02. Loquebantur variis linguis   Thomas Tallis   03:56
03. Miserere Mei   William Byrd   03:51
04. Haec dies   William Byrd   02:29
05. Ave verum corpus   William Byrd   03:48
06. If ye love me   Thomas Tallis   02:16
07. Hide not thou thy face   Richard Farrant   01:20
08. Lord, for thy tender mercy's sake   Richard Farrant   02:00
09. O clap your hands   Orlando Gibbons   04:41
10. Bow thine ear   William Byrd   04:16
11. Hosanna to the Son of David   Orlando Gibbons   02:40
12. Lord, how long wilt thou be angry   Henry Purcell   04:15
13. Thou knowest, Lord   Henry Purcell   02:08
14. Hear my prayer, O Lord   Henry Purcell   02:37
15. Beati quorum via   C.V. Stanford   03:24
16. This joyful Eastertide   arr. Charles Wood   02:21
17. Sing lullaby   Herbert Howells   03:10
18. A Spotless Rose   Herbert Howells   02:51
19. What cheer?   William Walton   01:21
20. O taste and see   R. Vaughan Williams   01:22
21. A hymn to the Virgin   Benjamin Britten   03:10
22. Jesus Christ the apple tree   Elizabeth Poston   02:37
23. Faire is the heaven   William Harris   05:10


Quantity: Buy $16.98