Search Albums:

Fauré: Requiem and other sacred music

Fauré: Requiem and other sacred music

The Cambridge Singers
City of London Sinfonia
John Rutter conductor


John Rutter’s Gramophone Award-winning 1984 recording of Fauré’s Requiem, re-released in 2010 at mid-price.  The first-ever performance on disc of the work in its intimate original version – famously re-discovered by Rutter in the Bibliothèque Nationale in Paris after a century of neglect – it remains one of the timeless jewels in the crown of the Collegium catologue. 
Hailed on release as ‘the Fauré Requiem of the future’ (Music Week), Rutter’s performance with the Cambridge Singers and members of the City of London Sinfonia has transformed the way in which we view one of the great works of European sacred music, and remains definitive.
PDFDownload CD booklet (PDF - 405 kB)
Purchase this CD:  Quantity: Buy $11.98


Listing Track   Composer   Length Listen
01. Requiem: Introit et Kyrie   Gabriel Fauré   03:46
02. Requiem: Offertoire   Gabriel Fauré   05:14
03. Requiem: Sanctus   Gabriel Fauré   01:59
04. Requiem: Pie Jesu   Gabriel Fauré   02:13
05. Requiem: Agnus Dei   Gabriel Fauré   03:19
06. Requiem: Libera me   Gabriel Fauré   02:56
07. Requiem: In paradisum   Gabriel Fauré   02:24
08. Ave verum Corpus   Gabriel Fauré   02:17
09. Tantum ergo   Gabriel Fauré   01:35
10. Ave Maria   Gabriel Fauré   01:13
11. Mater, Maria gratiae   Gabriel Fauré   01:49
12. Cantique de Jean Racine   Gabriel Fauré   04:15
Messe Basse
13. Messe Basse: Kyrie eleison   Gabriel Fauré   01:23
14. Messe Basse: Sanctus   Gabriel Fauré   01:23
15. Messe Basse: Benedictus   Gabriel Fauré   01:36
16. Mess Basse: Agnus Dei   Gabriel Fauré   02:04


Quantity: Buy $11.98