Search Albums:



The Cambridge Singers
City of London Sinfonia
John Rutter conductor

CSCD 516

Secular music by John Rutter

This album explores the secular works of John Rutter. Fancies is a cycle of six settings of Elizabethan poetry, described by the composer as ‘music for a summer’s evening.’ When Icicles Hang, another choral cycle with orchestra, is a winter piece, best known for its bitter-sweet setting of Shakespeare’s Blow, blow, thou winter wind. The Five Childhood Lyrics, for unaccompanied choir, take a group of simple rhymes and set them in a spirit of fun and fairytale. The Suite Antique for flute, harpsichord and strings, consists of six short movements ranging from a simple, classic ‘aria’ to an upbeat ‘jazz waltz’.

"four entirely delightful compositions." Gramophone

PDFDownload CD booklet (PDF - 142 kB)

Please note that you are purchasing a digital download.

To buy the a physical CD select the CD tab above.
Choose between MP3 and WAV format:
Listing Track Title   Composer   Length Listen Buy Price
01. Fancies: Tell me where is fancy bred   John Rutter   01:47 1.60
02. Fancies: There is a garden in her face   John Rutter   03:56 1.60
03. Fancies: The urchin's song   John Rutter   02:04 1.60
04. Fancies: Riddle song   John Rutter   03:17 1.60
05. Fancies: Midnight's bell   John Rutter   02:16 1.60
06. Fancies: The bellman's song   John Rutter   02:52 1.60
07. Suite Antique: Prelude   John Rutter   03:24 1.60
08. Suite Antique: Ostinato   John Rutter   01:40 1.60
09. Suite Antique: Aria   John Rutter   03:07 1.60
10. Suite Antique: Waltz   John Rutter   03:06 1.60
11. Suite Antique: Chanson   John Rutter   03:14 1.60
12. Suite Antique: Rondeau   John Rutter   02:49 1.60
13. 5 Childhood Lyrics: Monday's Child   John Rutter   02:56 1.60
14. 5 Childhood Lyrics: The owl and the pussy-cat   John Rutter   01:46 1.60
15. 5 Childhood Lyrics: Windy nights   John Rutter   01:13 1.60
16. 5 Childhood Lyrics: Matthew, Mark, Luke and John   John Rutter   01:46 1.60
17. 5 Childhood Lyrics: Sing a song of sixpence   John Rutter   01:47 1.60
18. When Icicles Hang: Icicles   John Rutter   03:59 1.60
19. When Icicles Hang: Winter nights   John Rutter   02:34 1.60
20. When Icicles Hang: Good ale   John Rutter   02:47 1.60
21. When Icicles Hang: Blow, blow thou winter wind   John Rutter   03:52 1.60
22. When Icicles Hang: Winter awakeneth all my care   John Rutter   05:53 1.80
23. When Icicles Hang: Hay, ay   John Rutter   02:22 1.60
      Buy whole album for $11.00  

Buy selected tracks for $11.00