Search Albums:

Light of the Spirit

Light of the Spirit

Choir of Clare College Cambridge
Timothy Brown conductor


Music inspired by light and by the spirit

This 2-SACD set showcases the celebrated Choir of Clare College, Cambridge directed by Timothy Brown, in a spiritually-uplifting collection of music of the last millenium.  The recordings were produced by John Rutter in the peerless acoustic of the Lady Chapel of Ely Cathedral, Cambridge. Available now for the first time in 5-channel surround sound, as originally recorded, this dual-layer hybrid SACD can also be played on normal CD players.

Set consists of COLCD 125 – Illumina and COLCD 127 – Blessed Spirit

"Finely crafted and beautifully shaped performances that are not just note-perfect but intensely perceptive as well." Gramophone

Purchase this CD:  Quantity: Buy $18.98


Disc 1

Listing Track   Composer   Length Listen
01. Lumen   Gregorian Chant   02:38
02. Bring us, O Lord God   William Harris   04:20
03. Ehtoohymni   E. Rautavaara   02:41
04. Nyínye otpushcháyeshi   S. Rachmaninov   03:41
05. O Lux beata Trinitas   William Byrd   05:00
06. O coruscans lux stellarum   Hildegard of Bingen   03:15
07. O nata lux   Thomas Tallis   01:38
08. Te lucis ante terminum   Thomas Tallis   01:40
09. Hymn to the Creator of Light   John Rutter   07:33
10. Hail, gladdening Light   Charles Wood   03:22
11. Christe, qui lux es et dies   Robert Whyte   03:22
12. Nunc Dimittis   Gustav Holst   04:05
13. Christe, qui lux es et dies   G.P. da Palestrina   05:10
14. Nunc dimittis   Josquin Desprez   06:26
15. Svyétye tíkhii   Alexander Grechaninov   03:10
16. Svyétye tíkhii   P.I. Tchaikovsky   02:26
17. Lucis Creator optime   G.P. da Palestrina   05:26
18. Lux aeterna   György Ligeti   10:14

Disc 2

Listing Track   Composer   Length Listen
01. Requiem aeternam   Gregorian chant   01:58
02. Kontakion of the departed   Kiev Chant   03:28
03. Selig sind die Toten   Heinrich Schütz   04:14
04. Blessed are they   P. I. Tchaikovsky   03:40
05. Funeral Ikos   John Tavener   08:25
06. Domine Jesu Christe   Gregorian Chant   03:47
07. O quam gloriosum   T.L. De Victoria   02:53
08. Psalm 121 and Requiem aeternam   H. Walford Davies   04:22
09. The Evening-watch   Gustav Holst   05:03
10. Steal away   arr. Timothy Brown   03:19
11. There is an old belief   C.H.H. Parry   04:30
12. O quanta qualia   Rheinhau Hymnal   03:36
13. Justorum animae   William Byrd   02:56
14. Deep river   arr. Norman Luboff   03:36
15. In paradisum   Gregorian Chant   01:17
16. O felix anima   Hildegard of Bingen   04:46
17. Audivi vocem de caelo   John Sheppard   04:04
18. Faire is the heaven   William Harris   05:33


Quantity: Buy $18.98